View all newsletters
Receive our newsletter - data, insights and analysis delivered to you
  1. News
September 30, 2015

Reshuffle at the IIRC’s board: Melancon replaces King

By Franchesca Hashemi

The International Integrated Reporting Council (IIRC) has appointed a new board of directors to reflect the organisation’s changing dynamic.The new board will have 12 directors from six of the major continents and take effect on 1 October 2016.

The IIRC has written on its website that the council’s new members represent a global coalition of organisations and businesses that utilise integrated reporting (IR).

Barry Melancon, current president and chief executive of AICPA, will replace Mervyn King as the board’s chairman while Paul Druckman will stay on as CEO.

King has praised the outgoing Board for overseeing the "successful" adaptation of IR worldwide, and the launch of the IIRC framework.

The remaining nine IIRC board members are new recruits, and a list of their names is listed below.

The announcement comes just two weeks after IIRC withdrew its Competency Matrix report from the public domain, as its tenure for feedback has finished.

IIRC said the report addresses IR training, as well as identifying two competency levels: practitioner and introductory.

New chairman of the board, Barry Melancon said the changes mark "an exciting milestone" in the IIRC’s development, as it preservers in achieving "worldwide" adaptation of IR.

Board membersPeter Bakker, president and chief executive officer, World Business Council for Sustainable Development – SwitzerlandHelen Brand, chief executive officer, Association of Chartered Certified Accountants – UKAlexsandro Broedel Lopes, finance executive director, Itaú Unibanco S.A. – BrazilJane Diplock AO – whose directorships include the Singapore Stock Exchange and membership of the Public Interest Oversight Board – New ZealandPaul Druckman, chief executive officer, IIRCTimothy Flynn, director, JPMorgan Chase; director Wal-Mart Stores Inc – USAReuel Khoza, president, Institute of Directors in Southern Africa – South AfricaIzumi Kobayashi, vice-chair, Keizai Doyukai (Japan Association of Corporate Executives) – JapanBarry Melancon, new board chairman, president and chief executive -American Institute of Certified Public Accountants – USADavid Nussbaum, chief executive officer, WWF UK – UKUpendra Sinha, chairman, Securities and Exchange Board of India – IndiaChristian Strenger, a member of the Supervisory Board of Deutsche Asset & Wealth Management – Germany.

NEWSLETTER Sign up Tick the boxes of the newsletters you would like to receive. A roundup of the latest news and analysis, sent every Wednesday.
I consent to GlobalData UK Limited collecting my details provided via this form in accordance with the Privacy Policy


Thank you for subscribing to International Accounting Bulletin