The Zambia Institute of Chartered Accountants
has launched a three tier financial reporting framework.

The framework splits entities into three types
of categories:

  • Tier one is listed companies, public interest
    entities and government owned enterprise. They are required to use
    full IFRS and must have a full audit assurance engagement
  • Tier two is non-public companies or those
    listed on the stock exchange with turnover of ZMK20bn ($4.2m) or
    more. They can use IFRS for SMEs or full IFRS if the company
    chooses to and must have a full audit assurance engagement
  • Tier three is Micro and Small Entities (MSE)
    with turnover of less than ZMK20bn. They are required to use the
    Zambian Financial Reporting Standard for Micro and Small Entities.
    Full audits are not required but can be opted for though an
    accountants report is acceptable.

The framework is effective for annual periods
beginning on or after 1 January 2011 and should be applied to
financial statements ending on or after 31 December 2011.

The effective date for full compliance with
the IFRS for SMEs and the financial reporting standard for MSEs is
1 January 2012.

The period from 1 January 2011 to 31 December
2011 will be to facilitate transitional arrangements for preparing
financial statements, the institute said.


How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.