The trustees of the IFRS Foundation have appointed with immediate effect three members to the IFRS advisory council, which advises on the strategic direction, technical work plan and priorities of both the trustees and the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB).

The three members are Olav Jones, deputy director general of Insurance Europe, a federation of national insurance associations; Anne Simpson, a member of the directors board of the Council of Institutional Investors, a non-profit association formed by various funds; and Surya Subramanian, chief financial officer of the Emirates NBD, a banking group.

IFRS Foundation trustees vice-chair Robert Glauber described the role of the advisory council as one that ensures key stakeholders of financial reporting to maintain a strong voice with which to advise the IASB and the trustees.

In December 2013, the IFRS Foundation appointed Joanna Perry as chairman of the IFRS advisory council and the IASB appointed Hugh Shields as executive technical director.

The IFRS Foundation said it will announce "in due course" a second tranche of appointments for 2014.

Related link

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData

IFRS Foundation