View all newsletters
Receive our newsletter - data, insights and analysis delivered to you
  1. News
June 19, 2012

ICAEW, A4S launch awards to promote sustainability

The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and The Prince’s Accounting for Sustainability project (A4S) in association with NatWest have launched the Finance for the Future Awards to promote sustainability in business.

At the event held in London last night, the six top financial leaders and their teams were awarded for creating sustainable value through doing business differently or adopting an innovative business model.

The winner in the large business category was South West Water after implementing an environmental programme, Upstream Thinking, in 2006 to work with landowners, farmers, charities and other agencies to re-establish natural reservoirs by rewetting moorland and then working with land users to reduce water pollution from livestock and fertilisers.

The medium business winner was managed security and construction and aviation logistics and consultancy service provider, Wilson James while the award for small business was given to branded products provider, Easibind International.

Other categories included: not for profit, won by Charity Bank; innovative newcomer and public sector awards were won by Giveacar and Hadlow College Group, respectively.

Highly commended awards were also presented to Danone, HW Fisher, and Companies House.

The three organisers said the awards had been created to encourage accounting for sustainability and to share best practice. Members of the judging panel included:

  • Former Deloitte chairman John Connolly;
  • ICAEW chief executive Michael Izza;
  • RBS Corporate Banking Division managing director Tim Boag;
  • RBS head of sustainabaility Andrew Cave;
  • UNLtd chief executive Cliff Prior;
  • ICAEW executive director Robin Fieth;
  • A4S executive chairman Jessica Fries;
  • Global Energy Talent’s non-executive chairman Ian Rushby; and,
  • Riversimple partner Hugo Spowers.

“ICAEW believes that the finance and accountancy profession has a vital role to play in changing the way we approach sustainable business. [..] As founding partners in the awards we recognise the unique position the profession has in influencing strategy,” 

Fieth said.


NEWSLETTER Sign up Tick the boxes of the newsletters you would like to receive. A roundup of the latest news and analysis, sent every Wednesday.
I consent to GlobalData UK Limited collecting my details provided via this form in accordance with the Privacy Policy


Thank you for subscribing to International Accounting Bulletin