The International Public Sector Accounting Standard Board (IPSASB) , developer of IPSAS international accrual-based accounting standards for the public sector, has appointed its board for 2023.

The appointees to the board have been selected following a nomination and interview process involving the IFAC nominating committee and IPSASB leadership, overseen by the Public Interest Committee. The IFAC board approved the recommended candidates.

The news board members are:

  • Nor Yati Ahmad (Malaysia),
  • Andrew van der Burgh (South Africa), and
  • Jona Wala (Kenya).

The re-appointed Board members are:

  • Kamira Muriel Sanchez Nicosia (Panama),
  • Scott Showalter (USA), and
  • Patricia Siqueira Varela (Brazil).

IPSASB chair Ian Carruthers said: “For the second year, the IPSASB will be a board comprising a majority of women for 2023. Diversity of Board membership is essential to ensure the delivery of high-quality standards that can strengthen public financial management globally. The appointment of new members from Africa and Asia will also be important to ensuring that our outputs meet the needs of an increasingly diverse group of users.”

The IPSASB also announced that Scott Showalter will assume the IPSASB Deputy Chair position for 2023. Commenting, Carruthers said: “I am extremely pleased that Scott has agreed to serve as my deputy. Scott brings a powerful combination of experience having served on the Board since 2020 in addition to his experience as the former chair of Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board where he completed his 10-year term in June 2019.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData

“I also want to take this opportunity to thank outgoing members Lindy Bodewig, the current Deputy Chair, Christopher Nyong, and Ajith Ratnayake for their many important contributions to our work during their time with the Board. We are extremely grateful for their dedication and commitment.”